Queensland Premier's Drama Award | Queensland Theatre

Please note: entries for the QPDA have now closed


Queensland Theatre are calling for entries for the Queensland Premier’s Drama Award 2020-2021 (QPDA). The QPDA is a development award assisting writers and performance makers to grow their first drafts, pitch documents, sample scenes, or creative development findings into a production-ready text. If you have an idea for a show that Australian audiences need to see on our stages, we want you to enter. This national award is open to individual artists and collectives of all levels of experience working across different performance practices. Application deadline is 15 September 2019.  


A panel of industry professionals review the entries, leading to a shortlist. The shortlisted artists meet the award judges in October 2019, where three finalists are selected. The finalists receive paid development leading to a presentation of their work for the judges in March 2020. Following the presentation, the judging panel will select a winner to receive further development of their work throughout 2020 and 2021. Queensland Theatre will then program the winner’s work in the 2021 Season.

The goals of this Award are:

To produce a platform for Australian theatre makers and playwrights to develop new works that are an artistic response to, or reflection of, ‘Australian Society’ and expose audiences to this work

To promote the creation of high quality, original, artistic work

To recognise and develop creative artists, their work and their standing within our society

To enhance the employment of Queensland actors, creative teams and production artists

Interviews with past QPDA winners


David MegarrityThe Holidays (winner)
Hannah Belanszky, don’t ask what the bird look like
Anna Yen, Slow Boat

Michele Lee, Rice (winner)
Kathryn Marquet, Furious Creatures
Suzie Miller, I Looked Up and There You Were

Daniel Evans, Oedipus Doesn’t Live Here Anymore (winner)
Tim Benzie, The Overflow
Megan Shorey, One in Seven (music-theatre)

Maxine Mellor, Trollop (winner)
Stephen Carleton, 
Bastard Territory
David Megarrity (for The Human Company), The Empty City

Marcel Dorney, Fractions (winner) 
Rebecca Clarke, 
Philip Dean, Unreliable Bodies

Richard Jordan, 25 Down (winner)
Katherine Lyall-Watson, Tinder
Sven Swenson, Dangerfield Park

David Brown,  The Estimator (winner)
Anthony Funnell,  The Tram
Michael Riordan,  String

Adam Grossetti, Mano Nera (winner) 
Stephen Carleton, Constance Drinkwater and the Last Days of Somerset
Philip Chappell, Welcome to Dreamland

Sven Swenson, Road to the She-Devil’s Salon (winner)
Kathryn Ash,  Flutter
Bruce Clark, The Kaufman Letter
Simon Ratcliffe, Conurb
Hugh Watson,  The Valley
Gayle Wilkinson,  Goat Head Burs